What type of organisations does the Charities Act 2009 apply to?

You are here:
← Back to FAQs

The Charities Act 2009 sets out the ‘charity test’ which organisations must meet if they are to be considered to be a charity. This includes that they must:

  • Operate in the Republic of Ireland;
  • Have a charitable purpose only
  • To satisfy this element of the charity test, your charity’s purpose must fall within one or more of these categories:

    • The prevention or relief of poverty or economic hardship
    • The advancement of education
    • The advancement of religion
    • Any other purpose that is of benefit to the community.
  • Exist to benefit the public or a section of the public in Ireland, or elsewhere, through its charitable purpose(s).
Previous What types of charitable organisations are there?
Next Who regulates Charities?